DIENG PLATEAU - 2,565 meters

Dieng Plateau, is a marshy plateau that forms the floor of a caldera complex on the Dieng active volcano complex, and is located near Wonosobo, Central Java, Indonesia. It is the site for eight small Hindu temples from the 7th and 8th centuries, the oldest Hindu temples in Central Java, and the first known standing stone structures in Java. They are originally thought to have numbered 400 but only 8 remain. The Dieng structures were small and relatively plain, but stone architecture developed substantially in only a matter of decades resulting in masterpieces such as the Prambanan complex and Borobudur. The earliest architectural usage of the Javanese demonic masks and marine monsters are exhibited along the niches and doorways of the remaining structures. The name "Dieng" comes from Di Hyang which means "Abode of the Gods". Its misty location almost 2000 m above sea level, and its mists, poisonous effusions and sulphur-coloured lakes make it a particularly auspicious place for religious tribute. The temples are small shrines built as monuments to the god-ancestors and dedicated to Shiva, rather than acting as a convenience to man.

Dieng Active Volcano Complex

Dieng Volcanic Complex is on the Dieng Plateau in the Central Java, Indonesia, as a complex of volcanoes. The volcanic complex consists of two or more of stratovolcanoes, more than 20 small craters and Pleistocene-to-Holocene age volcanic cones. It covers over 6 × 14 km area. The Prahu stratovolcano was truncated by a large Pleistocene caldera and then filled by parasitic cones, lava domes and craters which some of them are turned into lakes. Toxic vocanic gas has been known to caused fatalities and is a hazard at several craters. The area is also a major geothermal project.


This list is of all identified candi found within the immediate area of the main plateau.

  • Candi Abiyasa
  • Candi Arjuna
  • Candi Bima
  • Candi Darawati
  • Candi Dwarawati
  • Candi Gatotkaca
  • Candi Pandu
  • Candi Parikesit
  • Candi Puntadewa
  • Candi Magersari
  • Candi Nakula
  • Candi Sadewa
  • Candi Sembadra
  • Candi Senjaka
  • Candi Semai
  • Candi Srikandi
  • Candi Wachthamer





Adventuretrans.net (c) 2010